Matt Walls powers through to victory on the final day!

Photo: Szymon Gruchalski

Matt Walls powers through to victory on the final day!

The riders set off from Hinna Park at 11:35 for the 156.5 kilometers route. On the last day we got the biggest breakaway of the 2021 edition: Aaron van Poucke (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise), Stijn Appel (Abloc CT), Nils Broge (BHS-PL Beton Bornholm), Brendan Rhim (EvoPro), Gruff Lewis (Ribble Weldtite), Christian Spang (Coloquick) and Olav Hjemsæter (Coop).

A really fast day in the peloton. The break did an impressive 47 km/h in the first two and a half hours. Nils Broge attacked his breakaway companions to take the maximum points on the 2nd category climb to Undheim. At the sprint in Orrevatnet Lewis sprinted for it and narrowly beat Appel.

Approaching the Grisabakken summit, 400 meters of 9.3%. For the first of three pasings, Broge passed the KOM first, as in Undheim. 

Tosh van der Sande attacked from the peloton on the second passing of Grisabakken. As no one followed, he decided to cut the effort, and join back in the peloton. No points for grabs on the second passing, so the break had to wait for the last climb to Grisabakken.

1´09 was the advantage for the breakaway on the penultimate passing with 17km to go.

Bystrøm attacked on Grisabakken for the last time, but Hayter was quick to follow. It was all set for a mass sprint. Ethan Hayter won the first two stages, and it would be just right that his maddison partner in the olympics did win too. It seems like Matt Walls thought that was a good idea. He powered through, and won the sprint in impressive fashion in front of Mads Pedersen.